Keeping a deliberate pace

I am likely to miss the main event
If I stop to cry and complain again
So I will keep a deliberate pace
Let the damn breeze dry my face

Fiona Apple “Better Version of Me”

When your life goes through a difficult transition as mine has recently it’s easy to sit by and stew in your own juices. I am famous for this.

But clearly this is not productive. Rather than distract myself from everything troubling, the troubling things in life have had a way of distracting me from the good things in life.

It’s one thing to learn from your mistakes, but people who know me well have told me that I have allowed my past failures to create a self-fulfilling prophecy by [mis]guiding my future decisions.

So, like Fiona Apple, I am planning to pick up the pace in my life. Some people think that I already live at a frenetic pace…but as long as I have time to sit and get stuck inside my own head I will make a concerted effort to find a form of self expression. Whether it’s writing a blog, practicing the piano, immersing myself in work or being social I will be sure to let the damn breeze dry my face.

Leave a Reply

