What happens next?

I was talking to an old friend yesterday, and she asked me a question.

“So what’s next for Daniel?”

Trying to avoid answering her real question, I believe I said something to the effect of, “Lunch. I’m starving.”

But why was I avoiding the question? Was it because I knew the answer and just didn’t want to face it? Was it because I didn’t want to think that far ahead?

I think it’s because whenever I start to look ahead I get so paralyzed by the obstacles ahead that I don’t really set good goals for myself. Because, after all, failure is inevitable, right?

No, it isn’t. 

Now does this mean I have a clear vision about what happens next in my life? I really don’t. But those words in bold are a step in the right direction.

So what happens next?

Whatever I want.

Leave a Reply

